This page hosts information about REAL’s alumni. The idea is to keep a list of all graduates for others to consult, alumni are encouraged to contact Andre Avelino ( and provide the year of their graduation and citizenship(s) at the time of graduation, current position, and if available a URL link to a homepage.

Below is a list of alumni, by alphabetical order of their last names:

Dr. Nuzul Achjar, 2002 (Indonesia)
    Senior Lecturer, Department of Economics, University of Indonesia

Dr. Patricio Aroca, 1995 (Chile)
    Full Professor, Universidad Adolfo Ibáñez / Director, Centro de Economía y Política Regional

Dr. Hilal Astoy, 2012 (Turkey)
    Assistant Professor, Fox School of Business, Temple University

Dr. Laura Helena Atuesta Becerra, (Colombia)
    Assistant Professor, Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económicas (CIDE)

Dr. Andre Fernandes Tomon Avelino, 2018 (Brazil)
    Post-Doctoral Research Associate, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Dr. Nazmiye Balta-Ozkan, 2004 (Turkey)
    Senior Lecturer, Cranfield University

Dr. C. Taylor Barnes
    Professor Emeritus, Northwest Missouri State University

Dr. Jaime Alfredo Bonet Morón, 2005 (Colombia)
    Director, Central Bank of Colombia

Dr. Leonardo Bonilla Mejía, 2016 (Colombia)
    Researcher, Central Bank of Colombia

Dr. Eamon Boyle, 1996
    EVP – Chief Intelligence Officer, Assembly

Dr. Helen Briassoulis, 1985 (Greece)
    Professor, Department Head, Department of Geography, University of Aegean

Dr. Bambang Brodjonegoro, 1995 (Indonesia)
    Minister of National Development Planning of Indonesia

Dr. Nicholas Buss
    Senior Director of Research, Invesco

Dr. Harrison S. Campbell, 1994 (USA)
    Associate Professor, Dept. of Geography & Earth Sciences, University of North Carolina-Charlotte

Dr. Sungyup Chung, 2015 (Korea)
    Bank of Korea

Dr. Federico Alberto Cuello, 1994 (Dominican Republic)
    Dominican Republic Ambassador to United Kingdom

Dr. Sami Ben Da’amech (Tunisia)
    Senior Operations Officer, World Bank

Dr. Chokri Dridi, 2004 (Tunisia)
    Researcher, French National Institute for Agricultural Research

Dr. Adrian Esparza, 1987
    Associate Professor, School of Natural Resources, University of Arizona

Dr. Xian Fang Bak, 2017 (China)
    Quantitative Analytics Senior, Freddie Mac

Dr. Carlos R. Figueroa, 2014 (Guatemala)
    Economist, Central Bank of Guatemala

Dr. Oliver Fritz, 1995 (Austria)
    Senior Economist, Austrian Institute of Economic Research (WIFO)

M.S. Jizhou Fu, 2008 (China)

Dr. Rafael Garduño Rivera, 2012 (Mexico)
    Profesor Investigador, Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económicas (CIDE)

Dr. Ricardo Gazel, 1994 (Brazil)
    Lead Specialist of State Modernization, Inter-American Development Bank

Dr. Joaquim J. M. Guilhoto, 1986 (Brazil)
    Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)

Dr. Carolyn Dong Guo, 2005 (China)

Dr. Eduardo A. Haddad, 1997 (Brazil)
    Professor, University of São Paulo (USP), Brazil

Dr. Monica A. Haddad, 2003 (Brazil)
    Associate Professor, Iowa State University

Dr. Andres Ham Gonzales, 2017 (Honduras)
    Assistant Professor, School of Government at Universidad de los Andes

Dr. Soo Jung Ha, 2008 (Korea)

Dr. Andi Irawan, 2014 (Indonesia)

Dr. Randall W. Jackson (USA)
    Director, Regional Research Institute (RRI)

Dr. Sarwar Jahan (Bangladesh)

Dr. Guo Jiemin (China)

Dr. Young Jo, 2015

Dr. Donghun Joo, 2008 (Korea)

Dr. Jae Hong Kim, 2010 (Korea)

Dr. Kijin Kim, 2016 (Korea)
    Economist, Asian Development Bank (ADB)

Dr. Tae Jeong Kim, 2010 (Korea)

Dr. Suknam Ko (Korea)

Dr. Jee-Sun Lee (Korea)

Dr. Nancy Lozano (Colombia)

Dr. Esteban Lopez Ochoa, 2016 (Chile)

Dr. Jaewon Lim, 2007 (Korea)
    Assistant Professor, School of Public Policy & Leadership, University of Nevada Las Vegas

Dr. Marcelo L. Lufin-Varas (Chile)

Dr. André Magalhães (Brazil)

Dr. Faysal Mansouri (Tunisia)

Dr. Eduardo Martins (Brazil)

Dr. Cristina Miller, 2012 (USA)
    Agricultural Economist, USDA Economic Research Service

Dr. Darla Munroe, 2000 (USA)

Dr. Suahasil Nazara, 2003 (Indonesia)

Dr. Breandan O’Huallachain (USA)

Dr. Yasuhide Okuyama, 1999 (Japan)
    Professor, University of Kitakyushu, Japan

Dr. Dusan Paredes Araya, 2012 (Chile)
    Associate Professor, Universidad Catolica del Norte, Chile

Dr. YangSu Park, 2004 (Korea)
    Head and Senior Economist, The Bank of Korea

Dr. Seryoung Park (Korea)

Dr. Aisling Reynolds

Dr. Taisuke Sadayuki, 2016 (Japan)

Dr. Saket Sarraf (India)

Dr. Monalisa Sen (India)

Dr. Tubagus Furqon Sofhani, 2006 (Indonesia)

Dr. Jungyul Sohn, 2002 (Korea)

M.Sc. Rafael Angel Vera, 2007 (Bolivia)

Dr. Jose Fernando Vial, 2004 (Chile)

Dr. Claudia Vicentelo, 2014 (Chile)

Dr. Renato Schwambach Vieira, 2018 (Brazil)

Dr. Jun Wan (China)

Dr. Yu Xiao, 2008 (China)

Dr. Norihiko Yamano, 2017 (Japan)
    Economist, OECD Directorate for Science, Technology and Innovation, OECD

Dr. Moshe Yanai, 2001 (Israel)
    Head of Agriculture, Environment and Energy Sector, Israeli Central Bureau of Statistics & Visiting Professor, IDC

Dr. Sang Gyoo Yoon, 2006 (Korea)

Dr. Chenxi Yu, 2014 (China)

Dr. Daniel Halim, 2018